It took me quite a while but in the end I realised that perfection is a myth, there is no perfect person, we all have flaws. Now,  I am at a stage whereby i no longer pursue perfection, I only seek to be the best version of myself.

This may not be true for everyone but when you post a picture of yourself on social media, you try to post the one that portrays something close to flawless, because that is what feels most comfortable. If that is what everyone is doing then we are all hiding behind masks and comparing ourselves to filtered versions of others. Ouch! If there is one thing that brings my spirits down, its comparing myself to other people. This comparison goes beyond self image and speaks for our actions as well.

fullsizeoutput_3ad

I have been living in Switzerland for 3 years now and although I love to swim, I do not feel secure swimming far into “open water” in this case the Zurich Lake, which is lovely by the way. For a while, this made me feel less brave and somewhat less cool. I have now come to a point whereby I am actually fine with swimming with the kids around the shore because that is where I feel comfortable even when everyone else my age goes far out with no fear. In many cases, they have been swimming in this lake for over 20 years and are comfortable in it. Back home in Zimbabwe my only exposure was swimming in a swimming pool and so for me, it doesn’t matter how big the pool is, as long as it is a pool I will swim to the deepest sides with no fear but as soon as the water is open, fear grips me. If there has to be a comparison, then I compare myself to the children that are also still afraid to go too far simply because like me, they do not have the confidence and have not had enough exposure to swim far out and thats ok. Some people get over the fear quickly and some don’t, either way I think its fine. I remain my own measure of success or failure, not everyone else around me and that makes the walk easier!

“If you measure the intelligence of a fish by its ability to climb a tree then you will never see its worth.”In the same vain, do not use unfair measures to compare yourself to other people, you are uniquely wired and you would be so much happier if you accepted yourself for who you are and motivated yourself to be better not because someone else seems to be, but because you want to be better. When you realise that being the best version of yourself is the only path to happiness then I Hope You Dance!

Leave a Reply

